Hoosier Women Forward to Receive INDems’ “Activist of the Year Award” During Hoosier Hospitality Dinner


INDIANAPOLIS – The Indiana Democratic Party, the organization that advocates for the future of Indiana and its families, today announced Hoosier Women Forward as this year’s recipients of the state party’s “Activist of the Year Award”. The accolade is presented during the Indiana Democratic Party’s Hoosier Hospitality Dinner each year to Democrats who have demonstrated a commitment to advocacy on issues that would create a better future for families in the Hoosier State. 

“Hoosier Women Forward’s commitment to building the Party’s bench and empowering women to serve in public office at every level is truly an inspiring movement and without a doubt creating a brighter future for families across Indiana,” said Mike Schmuhl, Chairman of the Indiana Democratic Party. “It’s a fact: Democrats do not win in the Hoosier State unless women leaders are involved and women voters are making their voices heard. Hoosier Women Forward has rightfully become a pillar of the overall Indiana Democratic Party, and when Democrats win the next statewide office, it’ll be largely because of the work accomplished by the women in this organization. They are the present and future of the Democratic Party, and it’s a privilege to present Hoosier Women Forward with this honor.” 

Each year, Hoosier Women Forward selects a group of trailblazing women who have an interest in public policy, advancing Indiana forward with progressive ideas, and are committed to increasing women’s influence in the political process. The organization is now in its fourth year and has produced some of the most influential leaders in the Indiana Democratic Party. Notable alumni include: 

  • NICOLE BOLDEN, INDems Deputy Chair – Cities and Towns
  • ARIELLE BRANDY, President of Indiana Young Democrats
  • CYNTHIA JOHNSON, INDems Congressional District 5 Chair 
  • LAURA O’SULLIVAN, INDems Congressional District 2 Chair 
  • ALLYSON SHELBY, Newburgh Town Councilor – District 2
  • JESSICA GARCIA, INDems Treasurer
  • ANDREA HUNLEY, Candidate for Indiana Senate District 46
  • DAYNA COLBERT, Chair of the Hamilton County Democratic Party
  • JENNIFER CROSSLEY, Monroe County Councilor – District 4
  • NATALIA GALVAN, Indiana Latino Democratic Caucus
  • DESTINY WELLS, Candidate for Indiana Secretary of State


Let’s elect more Hoosier Democrats
We can't sit this one out.