INDems Announce New Deputy Chairs, Staff Appointments as Party Continues to Build for Future


Deputy chairs to focus on candidate recruitment, equity and inclusion, rural outreach, local issues, and coalition building as Democrats are set to deliver for Hoosier families

INDIANAPOLIS – The Indiana Democratic Party, the organization that advocates for the future of Indiana and its families, today announced the expansion of key positions within the state Democratic Party as it rebuilds party infrastructure and sets Democrats up to deliver for Hoosier families on some of the most pressing issues facing the state. 

The appointments made by Chairman Mike Schmuhl reflect what Democrats believe to be an all-hands-on-deck approach of meeting voters where they are, continuing the Party’s commitment to show up in every corner of the state and campaign on a vision of creating better opportunities for Hoosier families. This means celebrating the successful American Rescue Plan, campaigning on the upcoming American Jobs Plan, and delivering on other issues – like the minimum wage and education – that will set up Indiana for success in the future. 

Deputy Chair appointments are

  • Clerk Nicole Bolden, Cities and Towns
  • Christina Hale, Candidate Recruitment
  • Senator Eddie Melton, Equity and Engagement 
  • Kent Yeager, Rural Communities
  • Destiny Wells, Coalitions and Expansion

“The Indiana Democratic Party is at its strongest when it meets voters where they are and brings all voices to the table. These Deputy Chair and staff appointments make that happen, and now Democrats are equipped to deliver a vision and message to Hoosier families in all corners and communities across Indiana,” said Mike Schmuhl, Chairman of the Indiana Democratic Party. “It’s time to get to work and offer Hoosiers a clear choice on the future: a welcoming Democratic Party that is delivering for the state through policies like Joe Biden’s American Rescue Plan or a hyper-partisan Indiana Republican Party that has been in power too long and is trying to figure out its identity.”

Staff appointments include:

  • Lauren Ganapini, executive director
  • Megan McCullough, data director
  • Tiera Johnson, digital specialist
  • Drew Anderson, communications director

Lauren Ganapini and Megan McCullough will remain with the state party serving in their roles as executive director and data director respectively – both having joined the Party in 2019 and 2020. Tiera Johnson has been promoted to the Party’s digital specialist role after serving as Indiana Democratic Party fellow since 2020. Drew Anderson rejoins the Party as communications director after helping deliver a victory in Arizona’s 2018 U.S. Senate race and serving as Director of Campaigns and Rapid Response for GLAAD, the national LGBTQ advocacy organization. 


Let’s elect more Hoosier Democrats
We can't sit this one out.