INDems Statement on Results of Indiana Senate District 4 Caucus


Rodney Pol Jr. wins caucus to replace Karen Tallian and represent Hoosiers in Indiana Senate District 4

INDIANAPOLIS – The Indiana Democratic Party, the organization that advocates for the future of Indiana and its families, issued the following statement from Chairman Mike Schmuhl after Rodney Pol Jr. of Chesterton was elected to succeed former State Senator Karen Tallian to serve the District 4 seat in the Indiana State Senate:

“First and foremost, the Indiana Democratic Party wants to thank Karen Tallian for her service to District 4 and Indiana with the kind of honor, passion, and commitment that exemplifies the definition of what a public servant should be in our politics. Senator Tallian has been a perennial champion for Hoosier families, and her advocacy for issues like women’s health care, criminal justice reform, and future cannabis legalization have made a major impact on our state. We wish Karen the best, and know that she won’t be too far away from the ongoing debates facing Indiana. 

Indiana Democrats are proud to welcome Rodney Pol Jr. as the new Democratic state senator for District 4. Rodney is a proven leader in the Chesterton community, and Democrats could not be more excited to have another champion in the General Assembly fighting for a better future for Hoosier families. Pol will join Democrats in advocating for livable wage jobs for workers, affordable and accessible broadband internet, and fully-funding Indiana’s public schools. Democrats are delivering solutions to today’s problems for Hoosiers and I know Rodney is ready to get to work.” – Mike Schmuhl, Chairman of the Indiana Democratic Party

Background Information: Rodney Pol Jr. won the District 4 seat after two rounds of voting by a caucus of more than 50 Hoosiers. The caucus followed rules set by the Indiana Democratic Party in accordance with Indiana Election Code. Round-by-round vote totals were as follows: 

Round One (56 voters, 29 needed to win)

Becky Mateja Lombardini – 9

Deborah Chubb – 12

Todd Connor – 12

Rev. Michael Cooper – 0

Rodney Pol, Jr. – 23

Round Two (54 Voters, 28 needed to win)

Deborah Chubb – 14

Todd Connor – 11

Rodney Pol, Jr. – 29


Let’s elect more Hoosier Democrats
We can't sit this one out.